Nigeria Embassy in Lome Togo

As such, an embassy consists of a group of government officials, that is led by an ambassador, to represent their government in a foreign country.

The building in which the diplomats operates and work is also called an embassy. This group of foreign government officials operates and legislate their countries system of government within a building also known as the embassy in that foreign country where they are present.

The presence of an embassy in a country symbolizes the existence of a relationship between both countries.

Nigerian Embassies are bilateral missions abroad. Nigerian Embassy plays an essential role in trade development, cultural affairs, consular matters and local contacts with the press.

The ambassador is the highest official in a Nigerian embassy and serves as the chief diplomat and spokesperson for the Nigerian government. The incumbent president of the country usually appoints the Ambassadors.

Nigeria and Togo have an excellent bilateral relationship which has existed for decades now, and as such, Nigeria is present in the country through the presence of her embassy in Lomé, the country’s capital.

You will have full information and all you need to know about Nigeria’s embassy in Lomé, Togo.

Therefore, this article will provide complete details on Nigeria Embassy In Lomé Togo Address, Phone, Email & Contact and All You Need To Know. This will help you with your visit to the country.

Nigeria Embassy in Togo

Visa Processing:

The visa processing for Nigerian Citizens to Togo is of ECOWAS do not require a visa for entry and are permitted free movement within the other member countries.

Thus, you need a valid passport of your citizenship, the ECOWAS passport or the ECOWAS Travel Certificate.

For the non-ECOWAS country, they must obtain a visa on arrival to Togo. Preferably, they may as well get a permit from one of the Togolese diplomatic missions.

Also, all passports must have at least two blank pages and as well be valid for at least 365 days (1 year) upon arrival at Togo.

Citizens of other countries that are not from the excepted countries (ECOWAS) can obtain a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 7 days if they hold a return or onward ticket.

Also, it is possible to extend by 90 days the extension of staying in the country.

Notably, it is expedient to contact the embassy in Lomé directly for further questions and inquiries concerning visa regulations and passport requirements. You may also contact the embassy to verify address and opening hours.

About Nigeria:

Nigeria, known officially as the Federal Republic of Nigeria is a country located in Africa, precisely the Western region.

The country shares borders with Chad and Cameroon in the East, Benin to the West, Niger to the North and Guinea to the south Lake Chad bordering the northeast.

The country gained independence in 1960 from the British colony and became a republic in 1963. The citizens of this country are known as Nigerians.

English is the official and general language in the country, the word has been transformed into Pigeon or broken English which is a blend of native tongue and English, and it is widely spoken in every part of the country more than the Queen’s English.

The major languages are Hausa, Igbo, and Yoruba which other minor tribes are classed under.

Abuja (Federal Capital Territory) is the capital of Nigeria since December 12, 1991, having been moved from Lagos state.

The religious practice in Nigeria can be grouped according to the major ethnic groups, the Hausa ethnic group are mostly Muslims, the Yorubas are divided among Christians, Muslims and traditionalist while the Igbos and Ijaw are mostly Christians and some are a traditionalist.

Major Cities in Nigeria:

The most populous city in Nigeria Lagos state with a population of over 10 million people. The city is recognized as the commercial and business center of Nigeria.

Kano and Ibadan have a community of over 5 million people, Abuja the FCT has a population of 4 million people, Port Harcourt, Calabar and Abba has a population of over 3 million people while Kaduna, Enugu, Benin and Aba has a population of over 3 million people.

Most of the commercial activities in Nigeria takes place in these cities with the chief been Lagos state.

Natural resources:

Nigeria is a country blessed and endowed with numerous natural resources distributed across the 36 states of the federation.

Natural resources ranging from Petroleum, tin, iron ore, coal, limestone, lead zinc, natural gas, Columbite, to large farm produce such as yam, maize, cassava, cocoyam, cocoa, palm-kernel, groundnut, cotton, rice, beans due to rich and arable lands for farming.

Tourist Attraction:

Nigeria is a beautiful country and is home to beautiful landscapes, beaches, Islands and parks such as the Duke Town Cathedral and National Museum (Calabar), Obudu cattle ranch (Calabar), Aso rock (Abuja), Sheri hills, Victoria Island (Lagos), Freedom Park (Lagos), Yankari National Park (Bauchi) with Palaces, Art, shopping malls, gardens, zoos, museums in different states across the country.

Political setup of Nigeria:

Nigeria is a Federal Republic nation that is governed by the constitution. The most recent came into being in May, 1999, when the then out-going military Head of State, General Abdulsalami Abubakar promulgated a Decree recognizing the new body of laws as the country’s supreme document.

The president is the head of state. It has three distinct subdivisions which are the legislative (making laws), the Executive (administering statutes) and the Judicial (the guardian of the constitution).

The chief of the Judiciary is the Supreme Court where the constitution is interpreted.

However, the Constitution states that Nigeria is one indivisible and indissoluble sovereign state, whose constituent units are bound together by a Federal arrangement.

The constitution makes provision for a presidential system of government in which there is an Executive.

A legislature and a Judiciary, with each arm ensures and checkmate the other two arms abide by the law.

The Constitution also makes provision for the operation of three levels of government, at the Federal, State and Local levels.

The provisions in the constitution are binding on all authorities and persons throughout the Federation

Details for Nigeria Embassy In Togo


Nigerian Embassy in Lome, Togo 311 blvd du 13 janvier BP 1189 Lome Togo

Telephone Number:

(+228) 221-5976

Fax Number:

(+228) 221-5976




Mr Thomas Aguyi-Ironsi – Ambassador

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *